A Response to Tragedy, Part 1

I, like most of you, have been spending time reacting to and grieving for the recent tragic shootings that have made national news, one of which happened in our community.  Just when I was beginning to come to terms with the shooting at Clackamas Town Center, the horrific events of December 14th unfolded and it was learned that 20 children and six adults had lost their lives at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut. These events represent the worst kind of evil, almost unfathomable and unimaginable in scope and detail.  It is easy to be overcome by sadness, apathy, depression, and the sheer darkness of the news of recent events, but for me they only serve to clearly illustrate the level of need for Christ in our community, country, and world.

Pastor George addressed these events in his message this weekend, specifically some of the questions we may have.  If you haven’t seen it I encourage you to watch it here

I think it is important to remember that the universe was not created in darkness.  It says so right in the front of your Bible.  “Before creation, God existed, and He created the heavens and the earth” – Genesis 1:1 (My Paraphrase).  God existed before the world, and He is light.  “…God is light, and there is no darkness in Him at all.” – 1 John 1:5 (NLT).  God created a wonderful and marvelous world, but because of the choice of sin, death, sickness and tragedy were introduced into that creation.  “For the wages of sin is death…” – Romans 6:23 (NIV).  Indeed, we now find ourselves in the deepest of need for reconciliation with God through Christ.  Thankfully, God provided Christ as a light in the darkness.  “Jesus said, ‘I am the light of the world.  Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.’” – John 8:12 (NIV).  Jesus is the only way that we can be truly redeemed.  “…‘I am the way, the truth, and the life.  No one can come to the Father except through me.’” – John 14:6 (NLT).  People are hurting, lost, and miserable.  They need Christ now more than ever, and Jesus came for people such as this.  “For the Son of Man (Jesus) came to seek and save those who are lost.” – Luke 19:10 (NLT – emphasis added).

Our hope is Christ.  I choose to focus on that hope in response to these events.  As a result of this decision, I have decided to do four specific things each remaining day of my life.  Come back tomorrow and I will tell you more.  Thanks for reading.

Michael Inman
Abundant Life Church
Small Groups Director
michael@coolchurch.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment